Pamuk….Silent House

Orhan Pamuk has taken over my heart with his poignant descriptions of man sucked in the vortex of pain, desire and helplessness. All of his books are centered in a Turkey straddling between East and West, Rich and poor, strong and weak.  

The Silent House takes the reader into the house of an old grandmother lying in bed and waiting for death to take her away from her unsettled world full of despair. The book gravitates between past and present, hidden and obvious, and sorrow and joy. The grandchildren along with the house servant are all characters linked with the debilitated owner of the house. 

Pamuk is not to be missed at all!!!

3 thoughts on “Pamuk….Silent House”

  1. Our guy Orhan appears to have picked himself up one or two writing awards over the years…

    1979 Milliyet Press Novel Contest Award (Turkey) for his novel Karanlık ve Işık (co-winner)
    1983 Orhan Kemal Novel Prize (Turkey) for his novel Cevdet Bey ve Oğulları
    1984 Madarali Novel Prize (Turkey) for his novel Sessiz Ev
    1990 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize (United Kingdom) for his novel Beyaz Kale
    1991 Prix de la Découverte Européenne (France) for the French edition of Sessiz Ev : La Maison de Silence
    1991 Antalya Golden Orange Film Festival (Turkey) Best Original Screenplay Gizli Yüz
    1995 Prix France Culture (France) for his novel Kara Kitap: Le Livre Noir
    2002 Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger (France) for his novel My Name Is Red: Mon Nom est Rouge
    2002 Premio Grinzane Cavour (Italy) for his novel My Name Is Red
    2003 International Dublin Literary Award (Ireland) for his novel My Name Is Red (awarded jointly with translator Erdağ M. Göknar)
    2005 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade (Germany)
    2005 Prix Médicis étranger (France) for his novel Snow: La Neige
    2006 Nobel Prize in Literature (Sweden)
    2006 Washington University’s Distinguished Humanist Award (United States)[58]
    2006 Ordre des Arts et des Lettres Commandeur ribbon.svg Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (France)
    2008 Ovidius Prize (Romania)
    2010 Norman Mailer Prize, Lifetime Achievement (USA)
    2012 Sonning Prize (Denmark)
    2012 Legion Honneur Officier ribbon.svg Légion d’honneur Officier (France)[59]
    2014 The Mary Lynn Kotz Award (USA) for his book “The Innocence of Objects” [60]
    2014 Tabernakul Prize (Macedonia)[61]
    2014 European Museum of the Year Award (Estonia)[62]
    2014 Helena Vaz da Silva European Award for Public Awareness on Cultural Heritage (Portugal)[63]
    2015 Erdal Öz Prize (Turkey), for his novel A Strangeness in My Mind
    2015 Aydın Doğan Foundation Award (Turkey), for his novel A Strangeness in My Mind
    2016 The Yasnaya Polyana Literary Award (“Foreign Literature” category, Russia) for his novel A Strangeness In My Mind

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s